top of page

The Hunger for More pt 2

I'm just going to cut to the chase. District One LV. Asian Fusion done with a modern twist. I've heard rumblings but never had the balls to get it done. I've literally eaten a both restaurants that surround it (excluding the nail salon, no, not pizza chicken either) but never here. I'm kicking myself for not doing it sooner. Again, just going to cut to the chase and lay it out there. I don’t know how I ate it all but I ordered the following in no particular order:

1) Garlic Serrano Pepper Wings

2) Fish Sauce Wings (don't even think about knocking it)

3) Pork Belly Bun (so cute, like a Polly Pocket sandwich of porky goodness)

4) Beef Carpaccio (I can't, I won't, fuck it, this was the best dish of the night)

The wings hit the spot. It’s hard for me to accept wings out here since I grew up in Western NY. I hold a high standard to the beloved cut of meat known as the chicken wing. This typically only pertains to the wing and the drum however I've grown to appreciated the tip that most places throw out. Anyway, a good wing starts with a nice crispy skin, which both had. The Serrano wings were plain, meaning sauce less but they were salted and covered in diced pepper chutney if you will. Definitely worked. The fish Sauce reminded me a lot of a Thai Chili sauce or as we know it in the 585, Country Sweet. Sweet and tangy with a real mild salty fish kick. Don't let that description turn you off.

The Pork Belly Bun is one of my growing favorites. Sweet little Asian puffy bread filled with fatty, salty and sweet pork belly. There was a hoisen glaze and crisp pickled veggies. Now that I think about it, it’s almost like an Asian version of the New Orleans classic Muffaletta.

Last, but far from least, ye old Beef Carpaccio. Its seasoned raw meat. It brings out the primal instincts deep within my fade washed jeans and V-neck, somewhere just below the heart, behind the belly button. The stomach if you will. I guess technically the Acidity of the vinegar or soy sauce its bathed in cooks it or breaks it down but it never touched the frying pan, much like sushi. Don’t quote me on that, remember, I’m not a foodie. This shit had me at first bite screaming “lord have mercy” like when uncle Jessie saw Becky in full House. It was like the first time I heard The Black Keys or when I stopped calling macaroons hamburger cookies. It was my coming of age. It was then I realized, this was a serious eat. I loved every bite of it. It was chewy but not tough, salt but definitely not irony or gamey as you would think. They sprinkled it with peanuts for added crunch. I managed to scoop those up with my limited chopstick skills and call it a night.

I’m full. A good full. I plan on planting my ass here on my couch for the night, checking m phone once every 10-15 minutes knowing nothings there.

Be sure to tune in tomorrow for whatever the hell I decided to enduldge in, it's paycheck weekend bitches..

Instagram - Fish sauce wings.jpg
Instagram - #porkBellyBuns #eeeeeats #iEatDeliciousFoodDaily
Instagram - Beef Carpaccio and @lady12kt creeping ass in the back Took the cake


MY RECENT POSTS

FOLLOW US

  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Instagram App Icon

Do you have a story or something you think I should try or write about?

 

Suggest that shizz

Your details were sent successfully!

bottom of page