top of page

Japaneiro

It’s Saturday night. I’m on my couch. Still nursing a hangover from the night before. Just a word of advice, never, I repeat, NEVER drink and Karaoke with a group of Asians. Let that be your first and last warning. You will drink more Soju and Asahi than you can even fathom and wake up hating yourself for attempting a solo version of Bohemian Rhapsody. Before I subjected myself to all the madness the night entailed I had some dinner.

But where did you eat Tony? I thought you’d never ask. After searching restaurants in the area via Yelp for about an hour we settled on Japaneiro. We will always try to go to a new place once in a while to check out the scene and indulge in all that the menu has to offer. This place was no different and as you may already know I am hugely into this Fusion movement. That’s exactly what this was so I was sold.

Places like these will usually have a huge selection of tapas style bites on the menu to sample a little but of everything and that’s exactly what I did. I had the culinary equivalent of a 6 pack if you will.

To start I should note that the second we sat down the couple next to use had their truffle bone marrow dropped off at the table and I tried my best to keep my jaw high and tight and all saliva in my mouth. After seeing the pricing on the menu I looked the other way. To be fair, it wasn’t ungodly priced but knowing I wanted a little of everything, it wasn’t in the budget for that.

T-t-today junior! Right, my order, I’ll get to it I swear. I saw on the specials board they had a Foie Gras Blini….I’m such a bitch for Foie Gras. I love it. I don’t care how it’s made, all I know is it delicious. It also makes my feel just a little bit that much more sophisticated than those who haven’t indulged. Blini is basically a French pancake. “You mean crepes Tony?” No, bitch, I said pancake, not over rated paper cakes that have to be stuffed to become relevant. God, I hate crepes. Could you tell? I personally didn’t think it was that obvious but…”Tony, the food!” Oh, right, yeah Foie Gras Belini, it was savory. That’s the only word I can think of to describe it, I mean that in the best way possible. It was a peanut blini too to make it that much better. Next I ordered the Short Rib Wonton Taco’s. Hell yes. And they topped it with a Wasabi aioli? I’d give my first born for these to be available regularly for me.

Side note, I also love Tuna Tartar. If it’s on the menu, I bought it yesterday already. So, when I saw it on the menu atop of a Lotus Root Chip, it was on like Vietnam. This dish could do no wrong. It could drop a baby and I’d probably still side with the dish. Something about raw tuna bites on a crispy bite sized chip that makes it so freaking awesome.

The waiter was smart. He left a menu on the table. It like he knew I was a fat ass. Me being a fatass, I ordered another dish. They have certified Black Angus gyoza. Fun Fact, for it to be certified, they have to have a certificate with the meat to verify if you ask. I didn’t because remember, I’m not a foodie. I’m also not an ass hole and as long as the food is good I leave happy and might even leave a nice Yelp Review. Back to the food, I know. Gyoza was delicious, the meat was perfect. Prior to this I’d actually never had gyoza with beef in it, typically it comes with pork or pork with seafood blended in. either way, I’m on board, I got my ticket and I’m ready to go if this is signs of things to come. They topped it with a sweet ponzu-ish sauce, which made it that much better.

Only complaint, no booze on the menu. They did however have Mexican Coca Cola. Which, if you have the option to drink Mexican Coca Cola, you drink the Mexican Coca cola. It’s wayyyyy worse for you but so much better tasting.

All in all, good eats here. Now bow to the photos on my meal and let me feel the jealousy ooze through the screen.


MY RECENT POSTS

FOLLOW US

  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Instagram App Icon

Do you have a story or something you think I should try or write about?

 

Suggest that shizz

Your details were sent successfully!

bottom of page