top of page

The Hunger For More pt 3 (The Final Chapter)

Saturday, the hunger continued. I attended a monster brunch over at my friend Warrens. He’s been known to go over the top when he invites people over for any meal and in no way is that depressing. I wont get into too many details but I will say, the food was awesome and a brunch that started at 11am didn’t end until 4pm. White people love brunches, this was no exception.

I came home, needless to say and layer on the couch. I watch 3 straight hours of college football when my friend Dave text me about dinner. I had NO intention of eating the rest of the day and most of the way through Sunday but I let him talk. One thing led to another and I’m all in on Dinner at Gyu-Kakus Japanese BBQ. I invited a few friends to join and we met up at 9 after we all seemed to get lost multiple times in the china town section of Las Vegas.

The clock struck nine thirty and it was on. First off, to give you a little back story, Gyu Kaku started in LA. I believe they have several locations there now but this is Las Vegas’s first. The restaurant was brand new and super nice inside, pretty sure I even saw a Samurai warrior mask from Ninja Turtles III….. Any way, the concept is to order meats and cook it over and open grill in the middle of the table (I know, what are we paying for right?) Wrong. We ordered Beef Tongue, Hanger Steak, Chuck Steak, Spicy pork, Pork belly, Oyster Mushroom and broccoli to cook over the fire. We orders Fried Bacon, Miso wings, garlic rice and calamari for apps. First off, fried bacon, with a side of salt. Suck it Cholesterol. The miso-glazed wings were primo; I could of made a meal out of those alone but I DIDN’T.

We had our token Korean friend Grace ten the hearth and it was on. The big winners of the night were the beef tongue, hanger steak and spicy pork. I could of ordered double to myself and not felt guilty. As you know I have a soft spot for pork, tonight was no exception. We dosed most of the meat in what we coined “Meat Burritos” filled with their signature crunchy garlic. I couldn’t get enough of it. I almost pulled Napoleon Dynamite and put some in my pants pocket for later. The beef tongue wasn’t tough at all in fact it was the opposite. The hanger steak was the keynote of the meal in my opinion. The meat was perfectly marbled, it didn’t curl up on the grill like some steak will do, and it was pretty from start to finish. I don’t know too much about it other than seeing it on Chopped once (again I’m not a foodie) but I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for it.

All in all, we had a blast. It brought out everyone’s primal urges in cooking it over a fire like we were well dress cavemen who knew how to tip. The meat was stupid cheap, like the type of cheap you have to ask the waitress if it’s a typo just to be sure. I’m glad we did it; I will definitely go back with a group of friends to get out grill on and indulge in some more fried bacon and miso wangs.

Instagram - Patience is a vertue. I hate virtues.jpg
Instagram - Hanger steak bites. Safe to say we ordered the menu.jpg


MY RECENT POSTS

FOLLOW US

  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Instagram App Icon

Do you have a story or something you think I should try or write about?

 

Suggest that shizz

Your details were sent successfully!

bottom of page