top of page

Ferraro's

When I think Italian food, I typically think Americanized noodles dishes where the name is the most eventful part of the dish. I’m smart enough to know spaghetti and meatballs was invented here in the states for us “dumb” Americans and I refuse to eat it. Furthermore I refuse to spend my money in places that think it’s acceptable to charge more than $8 for a bowl of it. So when I found out we were going to Ferraro’s I kept and open mind, and just enough food in my belly just incase I left underwhelmed.

First off, I was wrong. We were not only greeted by the owner Gino, but son Mimmo came out with each course and talked us through each dish. Even his nephew came by for a visit. It was that same hospitality and attention to detail that left me in complete awe in what I just experience.

Gino came by as we sat and asked if he could do a prepared menu special for us with a different wine pairing for each dish. Without hesitation we both agreed and began our culinary journey through Italy. He left us by saying “you know this is the best Italian restaurant in the world right?”

Now, as you may already know, I’m not a foodie…and I’m the furthest thing from a Sommelier. I know enough about wine to know reds go with beef and whites go with pork and seafood. Gino knew everything. He has a cellar filled with the best and top wines from the old country. Nothing comes into his restaurant without his approval. He’s visited all the vineyards so who am I to question this. He’s also certified to do so and has the sophisticated palate to provide these choice selections with the dishes his son pairs to go with.

I would also like to add that all the seafood and meats in Mimmo’s kitchen are 100% non-steroid/hormone, grass fed and Safe Harbor Certified Seafood guaranteed to be on you plate in less than 36 hours from being pulled from the ocean. It doesn’t stop there because even the pasta, breads and dessert are all made in house, your choice, gluten free, and whole wheat. Impressive right? Incredible. The fact that I hadn’t heard of this place until today left me feeling a little disappointed in myself.

Course 1. The first course (of many) came out and already left us speechless. O our left, we had a Risotto Funghi, Prosciutto e Porcini. Absolutely delicious. Creamy, earthy, buttery and did I mention creamy? I did? Ok, ok but the porcini and prciutto was the perfect salty, hearty combination that only the nano Italian rice could bring together. Remember attention to detail is huge here. On our right, we had (my personal favorite) Pappardelle Mimmo. Mimmo, Mimmo, where have I heard that before? Oh yeah, the son, Chef Mimmo’s personal dish of choice. If it were possible I would personally endorse this dish for president in 2016. Absolutely incredible. The dish was comprised of long wide pasta with scallops, lobster, asparagus, butter, sage and truffle. I have never had a dish that complimented itself with each following ingredient. The scallop was the best I’ve ever tasted by a mile…make it ten miles. The Lobster came in full knuckles acting as almost a garnish around the plate. When you have a dish that’s garnished in Lobster knuckle, can anything go wrong? The pasta was fresh and chewy. The asparagus crisp. The butter, sage a truffle added that extra layer of decadence (as if it needed it) and brought everything in harmony. I swear to god I heard “Ave Maria” being sung by angels as I brought it to my mouth. Gino paired this with a Sauvignon Blanc Venica that finished really well with each bite.
Course 2. Gino brought the wine out first, a Kerner called Abbazzia Di Novacella. Even the name made my hair stand straight. And then came the food. To my left, Burrata con Caponata Melenzane. It was comprised of Fresh Bufala mozzarella with a soft creamy center over eggplant caponata, micro arugula. As soon as I took a bite I knew why he chose the wine he had. The fresh creaminess of the Burrata over the chopped eggplant, onion, arugala and brininess of the capers was on point.
To our right, we had Carpaccio di Manzo. Thinly pounded sheets of meat wrap with arugala salad, shaved Parmesan, tossed in truffle oil. It was served with a lemon wedge to you taste. Something about raw meat that just brings out the best in a man. It must be those primal instincts our ancestor’s ancestors passed on to use. In this case, it was elegance. Salty, peppers, nutty and well thought out. Again, remember how I mentioned they paid attention to those details? It was just a precursor to our next course.
Course 3. Branzino. I checked and then checked again, this was not on the menu. This was a personal decision from Chef Mimmo. It was an art piece. Rolled and served with truffle oil with a mint pesto plate sauce and buttery cannelloni beans. Cooked so well the skin almost resembled thin bacon. The fish just melted in your mouth with the oil it was finished in. Gino made it a point for us to eat that before drinking his third wine pairing because to our right we had Braised short rib served in a pan sauce with palate arrosto (thin, roasted potatoes) and Parsnip. It was almost too pretty to eat…almost. The short rib fell apart at a forks touch. The sauce literally made me fall back in my seat. It was that special attention to detail I keep telling you about. Speaking of which, Gino came through yet again with the wine pairing. This time it was a Perticia Rosso fro the Umbria Region of Italy. Red with body. To me, it reminded me of one of my favorite table wines from home Anthony Road Red but again, I’m not the sommelier here, Gino was, and a genius one at that. All these trips to Italy he talked of were starting to make sense and so was what he said at the meals beginning because this truly was shaping up t be the most memorable Italian meals I can ever rememberBut it didn’t stop there…
Course 4. Dessert. Or should I say dessert(s). The first, Pistachio Passion. Layered pistachio cream, cream cheese custard & whipped cream atop a rich walnut crust. I’m a huge fan of pistachio and this dish paid the ultimate homage to that green nut. The second, Crepes. Nutella chocolate, Mascarpone cheese, a hint of orange zest, & gelato. I had one of the white girl moments you always here me talking about because this was insanely good. I’ll be the first to say, I'm not one to swoon over nutella but in the filling made as almost a ganache (insert Italian approval hand gesture). I’ll be dreaming of that sweet treat for nights to come. Finally, the canolli. I’m my opinion, the most Italian of all desserts. The sweet, smooth, creamy filling in the cinnamon fried shell. Always a crowd pleaser.
I left here with a new appreciation for Italian food. I’ve been to Italy; I’ve dined at the high-end Italian strip restaurants and Ferraro’s made them all look stupid. This place gave me one of the best meals of my life (and I’ve had way to many good meals to count). It is truly a family affair. In fact, Olive Garden should be sued because when you’re at ferraro’s, you really are family and they will never steer you wrong.
Side note, I will be back. It’s well known that they have the best Oso Bucco in town and have a rabbit dish I was eying the second I walked it. Not to keep piling it on, but they also do five course wine pairing courses each month for $50 which even Gino admitted, they make NO money on. They just enjoy doing them for their customers.


MY RECENT POSTS

FOLLOW US

  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Instagram App Icon

Do you have a story or something you think I should try or write about?

 

Suggest that shizz

Your details were sent successfully!

bottom of page