top of page

Plantain Ginger Pancakes

First of all, I have been eating out lately but nothing to write home about. I will say that Public School 702 got a D from me despite all the "praise" from local food critics. Truffles and Bacon is legit, however I went for lunch when half the menu if brunch focused (my bad). At this point, the best place I've been dining is The Food Lab (not a restaurant, its what I brazenly refer to as my kitchen). I don't like to toot my own horn but I’ve been killing it lately.

I wanted to share with you my most recent recipe. The plantain pancake with ginger. I love plantains; they trump the banana in every way possible other than not being able to eat it like a banana. Weird right? If it looks like banana, smells like a banana it is a banana right? Wrong. Try this out and let me know what you think.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

1-2 plantains (browned)

1 clove of garlic

2 sprigs of green onion sliced

1/4 yellow onion (minced)

1-2 teaspoon of finely minced ginger

Salt and pepper

Step 1) Peel plantain, mash together all ingredients

Step 2) In a cast Iron skillet warn coconut oil to cover the pan.

Step 3) Add spoon full of batter to the cast iron about 3-4 inches in size

Step 4) Let brown on each side 4-5 minutes (its ok if they char its the sugar in the plantain caramelizing)

Step 5) enjoy. Serve with powdered sugar or agave syrup.


MY RECENT POSTS

FOLLOW US

  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Instagram App Icon

Do you have a story or something you think I should try or write about?

 

Suggest that shizz

Your details were sent successfully!

bottom of page